What is Deep Tissue Massage?

Deep Tissue Massage is a massage that goes under the fascia (connective tissue) and is usually reserved for people who are extremely taxed in their body or have had an injury. 
 This is my favorite kind of massage to do.  I find that it is very easy for me to get to a place of Mindfulness when doing this kind of massage as it sort of resembles working with a fantastic work of art.
  The human body truly is beautiful.  Each client is different structurally and in their energy.  Even skin tone is truly something to be admired.  It would be a surprise if any of my clients new how strongly I feel this way.  Each session leaves me with a deeper appreciation for the human body and all its splendor!
  Knots in the fascia are often the cause of pain and deep tissue massage is an excellent way of getting them out.  Exercise also helps.  I find that there are certain spots where the tension is almost always the same with my clients.  That is, the shoulders, neck and lower back.  I have been using hot stone therapy a lot lately and am getting a lot of positive feedback when using these stones to work deep into the connective tissues. 
  I always tell my clients to make sure they drink a lot of water when they are done to flush out all the lactic acid out of the tissue.  Soreness is common and it means I did a good job.  This means that a lot of toxins were flushed and are being flushed out of your body.  I can’t emphasize enough the importance of drinking water.
  Deep tissue massage is vital to maintaining health and vitality.  However, it can’t be relied on alone.  Exercise, posture and maintaining an ideal weight are all very important. 

Leave a Reply

